Elon Musk’s X allows users to post adult content with consent, formalising a previous Twitter policy

Social media platform X has announced that it will officially allow users to post adult content with consent, provided it is clearly labelled. This move is a formalization of a policy that was already in place before Elon Musk bought the platform in 2022.

The San Francisco company stated in a recent website update that users should be able “to create, distribute and consume material related sexual themes, as long as they are produced and distributed consensually.” “Sexual expression can be legitimate artistic expression whether it is written or visual.”

Even though there was no official policy, adult material was also allowed on Twitter before Musk. X has said that it will restrict adult content to children and adult users who do not want to see it.

X added: “We also do not allow content that promotes exploitation, nonconsent or objectification of minors as well as harming them, sexualisation, or obscene behaviors.” It also said that sharing adult content on “highly visible places” such as profile pictures or banners is not allowed.

X’s policies are in stark contrast to those of other social media platforms such as Meta, Instagram and Facebook as well as TikTok or Google’s YouTube.

Brooke Erin Duffy is an associate professor at Cornell University and a communication expert. She said that the platform’s decision to allow adult content fits well with its post-Musk strategy. “X has been unapologetically provocative and sought to differentiate itself from ‘brand-safe’ competitors.”

She added that the company seems to be courting creators and other artists who were marginalised by social media platforms with guidelines that restrict nudity or sexuality.

The policy applies to real as well as artificial-intelligence-generated material.

X asks users who post adult content regularly to adjust their settings so that all of their images and videos are placed behind a warning. Users must acknowledge they want to view the image posted before they can see it.

Related Articles