Sungai Bakap will vote on 6 July

PUTRAJAYA – The Election Commission has announced that the Sungai Bakap State By-Election will be held on July 6, and nominations for candidates can take place as early as June 22.

Azmi Sharom, deputy chairperson of the EC, announced this yesterday after chairing a special meeting in Menara SPR.

Azmi told Bernama that the electoral list to be used in the by-election had been updated on May 24.

He said that Sungai Bakap had 39 279 voters. This included 39 222 regular voters as well as 57 police officers.

Azmi said that RM2.1mil was expected to be spent on the by-election, and 522 workers would be hired to conduct it.

Nine regular polling stations with 65 voting streams and one early voting center will be available for the by-election.

The Jawi Multipurpose Hall, Taman Desa Jawi in Penang will host the nomination process and the official voting centre.

The EC was notified by Datuk Law Choo Kiang, the Speaker of Penang’s state legislative assembly on May 27 of the vacancy in the assemblyman Nor Zamri Latiff’s seat.

Nor Zamri (56), died of stomach inflammation on May 24, while being treated at the Hospital Seberang Jaya’s intensive care unit.

In the state elections of August 2023, Nibong Tebal PAS’s chief won 15,433 votes. He defeated Pakatan Harapan leader Nurhidayah Chere Rose by 1,563 votes.

Azmi stated that the campaign period would be 14 days long, beginning on nomination day (June 22) and ending at 11.59pm on Saturday July 5.

He said that two enforcement teams were set up to monitor the campaign’s activities during the entire campaign period.

He said that the teams will include police officers, local authorities and candidates.

Azmi announced that the online application process for all postal vote categories, domestic and abroad, for the bye-election will be open starting yesterday.

The closing date for applications is June 20 for Category 1A (election staff, SPR members/officers, police, military and media personnel), and June 13 for Category 1B (Malaysian citizens residing abroad) and Category 1C (agencies/organisations).

The EC invites all interested parties, including government agencies, non-governmental organizations, and other interested parties, to act as election observers, to monitor the process of the by-election from the nomination day to the announcement of the results.

Azmi said that while they are permitted to observe at the voting centres, nomination centres, and the centre for counting votes and tallying, they must adhere to all the conditions set forth by the EC.

To check information on polling centres and voter numbers, voters are advised to visit the portal at, use the MySPR Semak app, or contact the SPR hotline at 03-8892 7018/7218/7124, which will be open from June 18.

Related Articles